Museum Day

June 13, 2012 § Leave a comment

Yesterday was a bit of a horror show. Ok, it wasn’t quite that bad, but it wasn’t good, either. I was still struggling quite a bit with feeling jet lagged (total, inexplicable exhaustion) and feeling a bit cranky because of it. Me cranky is not a pleasant experience for anyone, but sweet, kind L. didn’t even ditch me in the Tube. Not even once!

We started the day early after a very long night’s sleep, filled our bellies with a classic English breakfast, and trotted off to the British Museum just in time for opening. Have you ever seen the Rosetta Stone? It’s pretty remarkable. So is pretty much everything else in the museum, not shockingly. Unfortunately, much of yesterday morning is a total blur for me, with occasional moments of clarity in which I distinctly recall holding a cup of coffee.

From the British Museum we headed to the Natural History Museum, stopping for a quick lunch on the way. The Natural History Museum was great fun. There was a mechanical T. Rex which I found alarmingly realistic (although I think the small children at the exhibit were less scared of it than me). We had fun, learning about dinos, checking out rare and beautiful gems, and flossing with a baleen whale.

Just as we were getting ready to leave the museum, an old friend of L.’s met up with us. We spent a little while longer at the museum, examining “pickled animals” in jars. We spent a couple of hours in the afternoon relaxing in another friend’s apartment, and then we headed out to dinner. Indian food. My love affair continues. The evening ended with tea at a friend-of-a-friend’s apartment. It was all pleasant and fun, and I only wish I had been feeling more myself.

We woke up this morning to bright blue skies and sunlight, however, which I think will improve my mood considerably. I’m already feeling better. I struck out from the hotel a short while ago to find a Starbucks (wifi!), and as soon as my feet hit the pavement I felt a wave of last year’s contentment. I’m not sure what it is about dashing out of a hotel into a strange city that is somehow not strange at all, but it’s invigorating. I’m remembering who I was a year ago.

But now I’m off for a walking tour of London followed by my own little walking tour of the south bank. Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Museum Day at Everything In Flux.

meta

