The times they are a-changing.

June 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

I had a moment yesterday, standing in my kitchen with my favorite yellow mug full of coffee, looking out my window at the somewhat dilapidated roof of our crazy neighbors’ house and at the side of the apartment on the third floor in the next building over. (There is a young couple that lives in that apartment. On one dark winter night, I tipped my head back to catch a piece of spaghetti, and as I did so movement in their glowing window caught my attention. I turned my eyes and saw the man that lives there doing the exact same thing.)

It was early, 6am, and the view was gray and foggy. I had been awake for a while trying to teach my brain to accept the time zone I’ll soon be in. The European Adventure has nearly arrived, and the view out my window looks different when I’m seeing it from the future and another continent. This feels like home, and for that I am deeply grateful. I haven’t felt at home in a long time.

And yet I am equally grateful to be jetting away from this home and into a wild adventure.  Last summer, I fell in love with traveling alone. This summer, I’m realizing that traveling together isn’t a compromise; it’s an expansion.

My message from the universe today was, “happiness is not diminished by sharing.” Cheers, universe. I’m looking at you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The times they are a-changing. at Everything In Flux.

meta

