I think I need to revise my attitude about real life. It’s coming, it’s not stopping, and I am no longer able to pretend that it’s taking me by surprise.

January 24, 2012 § 1 Comment

Today is sunny and warm (“warm” meaning above freezing) here in this fine city of mine, and I think I might finally be emerging from my yearly wintertime funk. Whew! It’s exponentially better/shorter in the city, but still no fun for me or anyone around me. Yuck.

Yesterday was the first day of class of my last semester. [Please give me a moment to hyperventilate.] It’s a little hard to believe that I’m going to be done in May, and even harder to believe that I have to start making big ol’ decisions. I found my dream job in San Diego. San Diego is sunny and warm. This should be a no-brainer. But it’s not. Because San Diego also has a grand total of zero people I care about in it. Zero isn’t very many, and Cambridge/Boston and the larger New England area have 90% of the people I care about.  Thus my conundrum.  Imagine that my job accounts for 40% of my total happiness/unhappiness.  Imagine that I live in Boston and have a mediocre job, but that everything else is pretty great (as it has been).  I’m estimating about 80-85% total happiness.  Imagine instead that I live in San Diego. My job is fantabulous, the weather is great, but everything else is pretty mediocre.  I’m estimating about 55-60% total happiness.  So, the solution is clear:

Hey, everyone I know! Let’s move to San Diego! Please RSVP by February 1st.

 

Or something.  Anyway, this semester should be interesting.  I’m only taking two classes: Photographic Archives and Archives Field Experience.  The field experience consists almost entirely of an internship, with just a couple of complementary class sessions. Photographic Archives is a regular course, but on my all-time-favorite subject. Yesterday I had my first session of the field experience course with a professor I’ve taken a course with before.  She’s extremely knowledgeable about the field, and I really appreciate that she knows what she’s talking about.  I also really appreciate that she got me really pumped up about my profession yesterday afternoon at a time when I was feeling pretty bummed about it.  The job market might blow, but the profession doesn’t, especially when there are people like her in it who actually care about their work, see a bigger picture than their daily tasks, and are really striving for the best from the profession.  She’s so great.

Right now I’m rocking out to the best mix ever. Dancing around, singing, cleaning my room. All the things that make me feel the best in the world. :D

 

 

§ One Response to I think I need to revise my attitude about real life. It’s coming, it’s not stopping, and I am no longer able to pretend that it’s taking me by surprise.

  • David says:

    By way of feeble attempts to console you, my hyperventilating friend, I can very nearly guarantee that the no-brainer aspect of your pathfinding will ultimately prevail. It only looks complicated and scary from the height at which you now view it. Rest assured, grasshopper, that when the time comes, the correct choice for that juncture will be obvious to you.

    P.S. Would you mind sharing that best mix ever?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I think I need to revise my attitude about real life. It’s coming, it’s not stopping, and I am no longer able to pretend that it’s taking me by surprise. at Everything In Flux.

meta

