I’d rather be blogging.

October 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

Life has been pretty fluxy of late, although on the whole it’s been just dandy.

On Thursday began what has since become known as the Saga of the Armpit.  Well, to be fair, the saga actually began about three weeks ago, somewhere around the last week of September.  I was diagnosed with having an abscess in my armpit (Hi, entire population of the internet! Want to hear about my medical issues?!?! GOOD.), and told that I should just wait it out and let it do its thing.  Well, I did that for a while, until on Thursday I went back to the doctor because it wasn’t doing its thing.  Student Health Services then referred me to the ER where I spent the next 8 hours of my life being bored out of my mind waiting for something to happen.  The procedure itself wasn’t that invasive, but sitting alone in the waiting room for hour after hour, I slowly became more and more nervous about it.  I also neglected to consume any food for what ended up being about 14 hours, so I was getting pretty darn punchy after a while.

Of course, I was brave and tough and all of that jazz (remember, I pride myself on being wildly, excessively, and, at times, inappropriately independent), but it was a bit of an ordeal.  It was the hour I spent between being shot full of pain killers and actually having the procedure done that really wigged me out.  As if being stabbed in the armpit a dozen times with a giant needle wasn’t fun enough, I was also then left for a full hour to imagine what might be coming next.  Delightful, I tell you.  But really, it was fine.  Gross, but fine.  Then they bandaged me up and sent me on my way and tra-la-la everything was just great.

Until Saturday morning when I had a total meltdown because I had a fever and was convinced that something was wrong with how it was healing.  At which point a very nice young man I know took me back to the ER where they told me that I was, in fact, fine. Oops? This was followed by lunch on the quad at HMS, after which I returned home for a nap.  I also partook in an awesome recuperative dance party (No roommates for the weekend, aka: cranking the tunes and dancing throughout my whole apartment. Yes, that happened.) that appears to have worked wonders, as I have felt fine ever since.  Today I had a follow up appointment where I had the dressing changed, and I have to do so again every day this week.  Oh heck yes! I love it when people jam wicking into holes in my armpit! No, but really, it’s not a big deal and it could be 1000x worse. I’m thankful that it’s healing and that I’m getting the care that I need. I haven’t got a single reason to complain!

In other news, school plods ceaselessly forward and I find myself writing literature reviews like it’s my job.  Oh joy!  It turns out literature reviews are the one type of writing that I really suck at.  Shiz.  Whatever. After tomorrow I’ll be done with them for the semester (and maybe FOREVER!! AGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!).

I made a resolution today, as I was strolling through Longwood, coffee in hand, favorite scarf keeping me stylishly warm, etc.  I am adoring these last months of graduate student life, and have, until now, been really dreading their end.  I’m still dreading it, but rather than living each day petrified of what’s to come and dragging my heels, I shall face it with composure and invest my energy in enjoying every single remaining day of it rather than wasting that energy on trying to fend off the inevitable.

Pretty much any time I make an announcement that starts with “I shall,” one should take it with a grain of salt.

That being said, today, while reveling in the back of my head about how super duper life is, I’ll be frantically reading and writing in the twelve spare minutes I have on either side of work and class. Tomorrow, I’ll just be frantically reading and writing.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’d rather be blogging. at Everything In Flux.

meta

