Studious Abby Makes a Comeback

October 13, 2011 § 2 Comments

I had a bit of a revelation the other day.  It went something like this:

If you aren’t taking what you do seriously, in effect you are not taking yourself seriously.

 

I take my job very seriously, and I take my future career very seriously.  Great!  But here’s the thing, I can barely muster respect for my graduate program lately.  I’m very much looking forward to next semester (a class about photographic archives, a class about digital libraries, and an internship/field experience, oh my!), but this semester is so dry and boring that it’s really a struggle to get motivated or engaged.  I was remembering last night that I used to go to the library most days of the week, have study sessions with classmates regularly, and do additional work at home, all the while calling myself a “slacker” because it was only a fraction of the investment I made in my undergraduate education.  Well, things have changed, and somehow I turned into an actual slacker.  I’m trying to turn that around this week, spending many hours at the library or the tech lab plunking away at a keyboard or reading my eyes out. 

Initially, this week’s motivation came out of an impending deadline, but now that I’m getting back into the swing of things I’m loath to let myself slip back into my slacker habits. I suppose I should find it no surprise that I’m actually enjoying getting back into school, being the nerd that I am.  My classes may not be very intellectually challenging, but I forgot one of my MAJOR beliefs about school: what you get out of school is a direct reflection of what you put into it.  I’ve been blaming my lack of inspiration on my classes themselves, but it’s high-time I admit to myself that it’s entirely possible that the only difference between this and any other semester is my own approach.  Instead of admitting defeat and letting the lackluster atmosphere in class suck the life out of me, perhaps I should be the one trying to liven things up.  Take THAT, Slacker Abby! (The fact that I appear to have a split personality disorder is a subject for another post at another time.)

§ 2 Responses to Studious Abby Makes a Comeback

  • This was perfectly timed reading for me. I’ve had a really hard time getting into my own work the last couple of weeks. That’s no reason not to keep plowing forward diligently, though; taking anything less than full care in my endeavors makes me feel glum. Which I hadn’t quite locked onto until I read this post and had an “aha!” moment. :)

    • Abby says:

      Hi Deborah,
      I am honestly delighted that you read this and found it helpful! It was quite the revelation for me, and I’m glad that by blabbing it all over the internet I actually helped someone else! Huzzah! Thanks for reading. :)
      Abby

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Studious Abby Makes a Comeback at Everything In Flux.

meta

