Things I adore:

October 2, 2011 § Leave a comment

Cambridge/Boston
my job
my life
music
dancing
singing

Little of this is news, I guess. Just reveling in it today. Dancing to Paulo Nutini = pretty much the best dance party I’ve had in months. Which is saying something.

I can’t quite work up the gumption to actually do my homework, and I finally realize why.  First, my classes are utterly uninspiring. Second, everything else in my life is far more interesting and engaging.  Simple, but problematic.  I’ll consider homework in a couple of hours.  Right now I’m going to eat some spinach and drink more coffee.  Pretty much all I need to live, right there.

My life has been pretty fraking insane lately, although a recent cold forced me to take a bit of a break this past week.  Said break gave me lots of time to reflect, and the only conclusion I can come to is that I’m not really done with Boston yet.  There is so much that I haven’t done, so much that I want to get involved with that my schedule won’t allow…  I graduate in 7 short months, so WATCH OUT, BOSTON.  I’m coming.

Beyond getting involved in my community (through volunteering with literacy programs and/or some sort of neighborhood revitalization project), I’d also like to start learning an instrument and learning some languages. First ASL and either cello or piano. Then, the sky is the limit, as they say.  In sum, I want to be challenged again, and I want to learn organically, and I want to care.  Thank the sweet lord for my incredibly awesome job (where I experience all of these things); otherwise I’d be hopeless.  Let’s hope I find an equally awesome full-time job in, say, 7 months. If only I could convince my place of work to create a Digital Archivist position… *drool*

In other news, I woke up to the HONK!/Oktoberfest parade that proceeded from Porter Square to Harvard Square this morning (uh, afternoon? I sleep a lot). What a bizarre and wonderful thing to see. It was kind of a marvel, and I quite enjoyed it. Just another reason to love Cambridge! Why everyone in the world doesn’t want to live here is entirely beyond me. Honestly, I love it here. So much.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Things I adore: at Everything In Flux.

meta

