I’m not always this pretentious.

May 16, 2011 § 2 Comments

Okay, I admit it: the foundation of this blog is pretentious, self-obsessed, and potentially repugnant.  In other words, it’s a blog.  All blogs are self-obsessed and pretentious; that’s sort of the point.

Glad we got that out of the way.

If you’re reading this, there’s a good chance that you know me in “real life” (AKA I’m not just a figment of the interweb).  I’m that girl you know who is in graduate school studying something you politely pretend you understand and/or care about.  I’m also that girl who changes her mind at the last possible second at every given opportunity, creates a new life plan for herself roughly once a week, and laughs more than is appropriate in most situations.  Hello!  Thanks for reading.

The idea for this blog has been percolating for quite some time.  It originated when I moved from an extremely rural part of the Northeast to a big ol’ city, where I found myself marveling at the day-to-day.  I’ve since adapted pretty seamlessly to city livin’, but I still occasionally want to share an observation with the world.  I couldn’t quite get my act together to tell a convincing and entertaining story, however.  Then I started a blog about my experiences in graduate school.  That blog sucked.  It was a major whine-fest, pity party, and all-around downer.  In reality, I’m a pretty enthusiastic, upbeat person much of the time… and that blog was neither of those things (enthusiastic or upbeat – we all know it wasn’t a person).  A few months ago, I found out I was going to be traveling to Europe this summer, visiting family in Spain, taking a course in London, and, as it turns out, traveling around England, Scotland, and Wales by train.  (I’ve since had to accept that I’m absurdly spoiled. Rotten on all counts.)  Ever since making those plans, I’ve felt compelled to blog about it.  I just can’t help it.

In all seriousness, though, I really do think that this trip could be pretty astounding in a lot of ways, and I want to share my joy in that with people who might be interested.

§ 2 Responses to I’m not always this pretentious.

  • David says:

    You are one of the most UN pretentious people I have the pleasure to know. Looking SO forward to reading your percolations. Your old blog was NOT a whine fest either.

    Who you callin’ ‘extremely rural’ anyways?!?

    • Abby says:

      David! Glad I’ve retained both of my previous readers! :P The old blog WAS whiny, especially because it was supposed to be about all the great concepts we were discussing in class… and did I write about that ever? Nope! This will be more fun (for me at least).

      I don’t mean “extremely rural” as a negative – just that it’s very different from Boston! I LOVED living in Sutton. I expect that someday I’ll wind up back in that area… :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m not always this pretentious. at Everything In Flux.

meta

